The California State Society is one of the largest and most active state societies in Washington D.C. The CSS has been in existence since the 1890s and is still going strong. The CSS is open to anyone with an interest in California, living in or near Washington, D.C. CSS membership is based on a calendar year, January to December 31. The society’s activities are managed by a volunteer executive board, assisted by both the California Congressional Delegation and of course, our generous corporate sponsors.



  • 1893

    Early California State Society records are sparse, but we do know that Californians have been gathering in D.C. since 1893 when the members of the society erected a cabin in honor of the “Frontier Poet” Joaquin Miller, in what is now known as Meridian Park.

  • 1913

    The cabin was moved in 1913 to Rock Creek Park on Beach Drive, a location in Washington thought to most resemble Miller’s beloved California Sierras.

  • 1946

    Since those early days, the tradition of Californians celebrating California in Washington, D.C. has continued. Although primarily a social organization, the Society is proud of its role in promoting California in our nation’s Capitol, and of its ready support for fellow Californians. Records show the Society’s assistance to wounded service men and women from California during World War II, and that it hosted a “Picnic in the Park” in their honor in 1946 at the A.W.V.S. Canteen at 21st Constitution.


The annual Summer Picnic is one of the most enduring traditions in Washington, D.C. Thousands of Californians have come together over the past century to enjoy this summer rite, first celebrated at the old Joaquin Miller cabin in 1893. Some members still remember picnics in the 1960′s where Congressman “Bizz” Johnson presided with his famous BBQ chicken.


Dave Ramey
California State Society
Co-President, Kadesh & Associates

Laurie Saroff
California State Society
Co-President, University of Southern California

Kathy Amano - Plus Creative Group
Gwen Brown - Lockheed Martin
Frank Cullen - U.S. Chamber of Commerce
Sonali Desai - Office of Democratic Caucus Chair Pete Aguilar
Angela Ebiner - Office of Senator Alex Padilla
Robert Edmonson - Office of Rep. Robert Garcia
Molly Fishman - Thermo Fisher Scientific
Miguel Franco - NBCUniversal Telemundo Enterprises
Sam Frazier - Office of Senator Laphonza Butler
Jim Freeman - Bright MLS
Bertha Guerrero - U.S. Department of Health and Human Services
Steve Haro - Haro & Associates
Chris Harrington - University of California

Nancy Juarez - California Democratic Congressional Delegation
Jason Larrabee - Chevron
Ricky Le - Office of Rep. Linda Sanchez                    Jack Lincoln - Office of Rep. Ken Calvert                 Juan Lopez - Office of Rep. Jim Costa
Alexis Marks Mosher - Apple
Julia Massimino
Katie Mathews - Office of Governor Gavin Newsom
Yvonne McIntyre - PG&E                                                    Ben Miller - Kadesh & Associates LLC                  Basim Motiwala - Hyundai Motor Company
Dao Nguyen - Cornerstone Government Affairs
Jenny Nieto - Gilead Sciences

Allison O'Brien - Oracle
Eve O'Toole - Holland & Knight
Jennifer Poulakidas
Amy Pressler - Edison International
Chris Randle - META
Devin Rhinerson - PACE LLP
Julie Eddy Rokala - Cassidy & Associates
Stacey Lima Secrest
Linda Shim 
- Comcast
Charles Small - HNTB
Mark Spannagel - Office of Rep. Doug LaMalfa
David Wetmore - Carpi & Clay
Erin Wheeler Perin